13 countries to join new Asia-Pacific trade framework

US President Joe Biden has announced in Japan that 13 countries have joined a new, US-led Asia-Pacific trade initiative, the Indo-Pacific Economic Framework for Prosperity or the IPEF. Alongside the US, the other countries included in the framework are India, Australia, Brunei, Indonesia, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.