MS Dhoni steps down as Chennai Super Kings captain

CSK has announced that MS Dhoni has stepped down as captain ahead of IPL 2022 and has picked Ravindra Jadeja to lead the team. Jadeja, who has been an integral part of CSK since 2012, will only be the third player to lead CSK. Dhoni had led CSK since the first season of the IPL way back in 2008. He is the IPL’s second-most successful captain having led CSK to four titles, just one behind Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians. With Dhoni in charge, CSK became the most successful IPL franchise of all time, failing to qualify for the playoffs only once in the tournament’s 15-year-long history. Dhoni led CSK and RPS to 121 victories in 204 IPL matches between 2008 and 2021. Dhoni led CSK to nine IPL finals, winning four of them. He scored 4,456 IPL runs as captain, second highest after Virat Kohli’s 4,881 runs as captain.