Naftali Bennett sworn in as Israel’s new Prime Minister

Naftali Bennett has become the thirteenth Prime Minister of Israel on the evening of 13 June 2021. Netanyahu served as Israeli Prime Minister for over 12 years, becoming the longest-serving Prime Minister of the Jewish-majority nation. Promising to try to heal a divided nation, Bennett will preside over a diverse and fragile coalition comprised of eight parties with deep ideological differences. Mr Bennett, leader of Yamina party, will be prime minister until September 2023 as part of a power-sharing deal.