Pfizer’s COVID-19 vaccine approved for use in EU’s 27 countries

European Union has authorized the use of Pfizer/BioNTech coronavirus vaccine across the 27-nation bloc. Ursula von der Leyen, the President of the European Commission, said the vaccine would be “available to all EU countries at the same time, on the same conditions”. The vaccinations would begin from December 27, she added. Earlier, US, UK and Canada had approved Pfizer’s vaccine.Fears of a new surge in cases among people gathering for the Christmas and New Year holidays have prompted partial lockdowns in countries like Germany and the Netherlands. The threat of a new, more infectious Covid-19 variant spreading from the UK has also seen several EU states suspend travel from Britain.