Bill to divide J&K into 2 UTs passed in Rajya Sabha

The J&K Reorganisation Bill, 2019 aimed at bifurcating Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories has been passed by the Rajya Sabha. As many as 125 members favoured the Bill, while 61 opposed it. The bill proposes Jammu and Kashmir as a Union Territory with a legislature, while Ladakh as a Union Territory without a legislature.